In these days … / En estos días

30leUb2U

Take a few days off allowed that I could step back to look at the daily work (in my case, my day job which I love, but is away from home) and my creative work as well.

Keep the ideas flowing, pursue them, spread it and translate into sales is not easy and sometimes I feel that it has taken me too long to flesh out Mitimota. A few times I thought about quitting and give me time to knit just as a hobby, but I can not. I love the idea that someone who lives elsewhere in the world can enjoy something I did with love, to which I dedicated time and they may receive a part of my life here in the Southern Hemisphere. It’s like an energy that moves in and I can not stop it.

9a0H76gp

I have taken the time to think about what I want to do, what I want to achieve and what are the steps:
The first, is that some time ago I’m feeling that I need more technical assistance, to organize my work and produce according to my goals and not keep as spontaneous and intermittent production as far I do, and   I believe in tuning of energies a unique opportunity opened to do this: I was invited to apply and was selected to participate of Node Program Design, Women and Market that will be executed by Remade in Chile in partnership with CORFO and Sernam (these are organizations promoting domestic production and service of women in my country ), and aims to advise endeavors like mine that need a more strategic orientation to develop.

I’m happy, you can not imagine how!

0Fw0ZFP6

The second, is to recognize that my day job takes most of my productive time (yes, I knit + design in the bus and the subway when I travel every day, but it’s not enough), I decided I should devote 100% to design new models, to knit prototypes and the management of my brand, but if I want to keep alive Mitimota I need to rephrase my way to work and ask for help, so I have to hire some knitters who can support me.

And finally, I realize that I must protect my time and my processes, to make them organically, unforced, but planned and strategically and for that I need to learn new things, take on new challenges and follow my guts if I have one to keep burning passion and filling my head with images and forms.

Sorry this became so long, but I wanted to share some of the innermost process of Mitimota and you can know the thoughts and difficulties that occur behind my work.

                                                                       ***

Tener algunos días libres permitió que yo pudiera tomar distancia para mirar el trabajo diario (en mi caso, mi trabajo formal lejos de casa y que me encanta) y mi trabajo creativo tambien.

Mantener las ideas fluyendo, concretarlas, difundirlas y traducirlas en ventas no es sencillo y a veces siento que me ha tomado demasiado tiempo el darle cuerpo a Mitimota. No pocas veces he pensado en renunciar y dedicarme a tejer sólo como hobby, pero no puedo. Me encanta la idea de que alguien que vive en otro lugar del mundo pueda disfrutar algo que yo hice con cariño, a lo que dediqué tiempo y que pueda recibir una parte de mi vida aqui al sur del mundo. Es como una energía que se mueve dentro y no puedo pararla.

Me he tomado el tiempo para pensar qué quiero hacer, qué quiero lograr y cuáles son los pasos a seguir:
Lo primero, es que hace tiempo siento que necesito una asesoría más técnica, para organizar mi trabajo y producir acorde a mis metas y no mantener como hasta ahora una producción espontánea e intermitente y – como creo en la sintonía-  justo se abrió una oportunidad única de hacerlo: fui invitada a postular y fui seleccionada para participar del programa Nodo Diseño Mujer y Mercado que será ejecutado por Remade in Chile en alianza con Corfo y Sernam (son organizaciones de fomento de la producción y el servicio nacional de la mujer de mi país), y tiene por objetivo asesorar a microempresas como la mia que necesitan una orientación más estrategica para desarrollarse. ¡Estoy feliz, no se pueden imaginar cuanto!

Lo segundo, es que reconociendo que mi trabajo diario se lleva casi todo mi tiempo productivo (si, tejo y diseño en el bus y en el metro cuando viajo cada dia, pero no es suficiente), he decidido que debo dedicarme 100% al diseño de nuevas prendas, al tejido de prototipos y a la gestión de mi marca, pero que si quiero mantener viva a Mitimota debo reformular mi forma de trabajar y pedir ayuda, por lo cual tengo que contratar a algunas tejedoras que puedan apoyarme.

Y finalmente, me doy cuenta que debo resguardar mis tiempos y mis procesos, para que se den de forma orgánica, no forzada, pero planificada y estratégicamente y para eso debo aprender cosas nuevas, asumir nuevos desafios y seguir mi instinto – si es que tengo uno- para que esta pasión se mantenga ardiente y llenando de imagenes y formas mi cabeza.

Lamento que esto se convirtiera en un testamento, pero quería compartir parte del proceso más interno de Mitimota y que puedan conocer las reflexiones y las dificultades que se dan detrás de mi trabajo.

Responder

